Does go show the player's personality?

Clifton

Post by Clifton »

I have read in multiple places that masters of go can tell someones personalty by the way they play. I posted a similar question on KGS in the chat window a while back. The ensueing discussion was very interesting. I can believe after all the research I've done that go can show a player's personality, but I would like to hear what people have to say. My theory is that as a player improves past the beginner level, and they begin to develope their own playing style, their persona keeps showing more and more through the board. And even as a beginner I will say with confidence that no two(human) players are completely alike. I also speculate that the reason computers aren't better than strong beginners; maybe getting past that stage requires
(of coarse this is just my speculation)...
#1 more processing than the programs can provide at this point ^_^
#2 the player to begin developing their own style

With all the possibilities in go, I'm sure a master could learn about a person by their moves.
---------------
Playing go is like trying to hold sand. The more you tighten your grip, the more it slips through your fingers. (Something a family member said when I was trying to teach them the basics)

{Posted by Clifton}
xnarux

Post by xnarux »

I agree completely there
I've only been playing for a little less than a month, maybe a little more. my friend got me into it.
Already I;m the best in my group of friends notably since I play any time its humanly possible, and I end up playing a lot of people.
Everyones playing style seems to give off a different feeling, and so it does seem like when you play go, your combating their very person against your own.
hah its so awesome^^V!!

{Posted by xnarux}
AngelMarie

Post by AngelMarie »